Wedding Season: Friend or Foe

Posted: October 8, 2010 in Joe's Life
Tags: , ,

Even if you say you don’t like weddings, you actually like weddings. This doesn’t mean every wedding is amazing and that you’ll always leave with a grin from ear to ear but the basic elements of a wedding are tough to argue with: food, booze, dancing and at least two extremely happy people (a.k.a. the bride and groom).

As someone in their mid-twenties, wedding season is in full force. All of my college friends that have been together for years are starting to settle down and create a life together, which means I have a plethora of celebrations to attend and reasons to celebrate.

This weekend is my third wedding in 2010 and it is both exciting and a relief. Exciting because some of my closest buddies are tying the knot this year and a relief because the winter months will be a chance to relax and recuperate before it starts up again next spring.

Wedding season is filled with a variety of pluses and minuses that can be argued when determining whether this time of year is blessing or a punishment. The obvious quarrels involve money vs. the ability to see friends and using vacation time for a wedding vs. using vacation time for yourself but the sleeper argument for determining if wedding season is a friend or foe is a little more personal.

What most people in a relationship don’t realize is this time of year forces a single individual to evaluate their life and try to predict where they might be several month from now. When you look at an RSVP note, like I am right now, you’re really predicting your relationship status two or three months from now.

As much as I hate glaring down at a RSVP note and thinking about my possible “plus one,” this is one of my favorite parts of wedding season. To me the process is helpful because it causes me to reflect on my life, figure out where I am and where I want to be.

I still have a more days to figure out how I’m going to RSVP to my next wedding but who knows what will happen this weekend. The wedding is in Du Quoin, IL, a farm town, and who knows maybe I’ll fall in love with a farmer’s daughter.

Cheers,

Joe

p.s. Another benefit of wedding season is it’s a good excuse to wear a tuxedo.

Comments
  1. Love this, Joe, and I couldn’t agree more about the “predicting your relationship status two or three months from now.” At best, it’s a tough guessing game – at worst, it’s like playing Russian Roulette. :).

  2. Joe says:

    Haha – I love the analogy. It’s a dangerous game to play indeed. A buddy of mine told me he replies with a plus one for every wedding he attends because he likes to stay optimistic.

  3. […] smoke a cigar and maybe throw back some whiskey. I love birthdays, mine and others, because like wedding invites, they are a chance to reflect on the past year, celebrate accomplishments and make plans for the […]

  4. […] is would be a perfect opportunity to remind everyone that weddings are amazing and that the Royal Wedding is really about two people falling in love, I imagine Katie Couric beat […]

  5. […] smoke a cigar and maybe throw back some whiskey. I love birthdays, mine and others, because like wedding invites, they are a chance to reflect on the past year, celebrate accomplishments and make plans for the […]

  6. […] is would be a perfect opportunity to remind everyone that weddings are amazing and that the Royal Wedding is really about two people falling in love, I imagine Katie Couric beat […]

  7. […] is would be a perfect opportunity to remind everyone that weddings are amazing and that the Royal Wedding is really about two people falling in love, I imagine Katie Couric beat […]

  8. […] smoke a cigar and maybe throw back some whiskey. I love birthdays, mine and others, because like wedding invites, they are a chance to reflect on the past year, celebrate accomplishments and make plans for the […]

Leave a Reply

